Customer Reviews for National Gas & Electric

People have been reviewing National Gas & Electric on IL Energy Ratings, giving you an understanding of being National Gas & Electric's customer is like.

Additionally, we combine customer ratings with an array of other variables to develop a more comprehensive rating. Read IL Energy Ratings analasys of National Gas & Electric.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

National Gas & Electric's Customer Reviews Summary

National Gas & Electric Scores and Ratings:

IL Energy Ratings Overall Score for National Gas & Electric

2.8 / 5

National Gas & Electric Reviews

66 Reviews for National Gas & Electric

66

total reviews

Recent Good Review from Barbie J Bradley

Overall Rating
Awesome
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I really Loved it

Barbie J Bradley from Chicago, IL on July 26th, 2018
Overall Rating
Another preditor utility company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Prey on senior citizens, and then threaten them. Won't answer phone stating too many calls!

Deanna Schroeder from Bourbonnais, IL on April 26th, 2021
Overall Rating
Scammers, just hang up on them
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They charge 40% more than the ComEd, they are scammers.

Peter B from Chicago, IL on August 20th, 2019
Overall Rating
Probably made a mistake here....
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

So they called me. Said they were WITH com ed. then later on they said they were authorized by com ed. anyway, they had all my account information already. they said i qualified for a lower rate because of my on time payment history. i was skeptical but was assured they were with com ed. they also would give me a lower rate for bundling with nicor. gas and electric.... makes sense right? i get my first bill. $30 commodity fee. real mad about it. my gas bill is usually only $20. so now its almost a $50 bill. saving me money huh? then they call me on THANKSGIVING to tell me that they made a mistake entering my information for my electricity. they put me in as a commercial business. re verified i was a house. kinda mad about it but whatever. then i look them up online and find they are probably scammers. i think i am going to have a problem getting this cancelled too.... might have to make a formal complaint with the consumer utility board or whatever it's called. of course they are closed the next few days so i cant even call to cancel until monday. HANG UP ON THEM IF THEY EVER CALL YOU.

Scott from Aurora, IL on November 23rd, 2018
Overall Rating
Enrollment scam
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Recently, I receive a letter saying my supplier has changed but I didn't talk to anyone on changing supplier. I call National Gas & Electric LLC about this problem and was told it was a mistake on their part. They accidently enrolled us(I wonder how that happen) and cancellation will take 1 or 2 billing cycle. BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY!.

JM from Skokie, IL on July 26th, 2018
Overall Rating
Pay attetntion
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I received a letter from another supplier requesting I be switched. That's when I called Comed to find out what was going on. Comed then informed me that National Gas was my supplier. I have no idea how they became my supplier witch is a lot higher then Comed anyway. They couldn't answer my question. I informed them to cancel that account and switch it back to comed. Well a month later it still has not been done. These people are a fraud and needs to be stopped. They are ripping people off and act like there is nothing the consumer can do about. I am now dealing with the ICC

Lisa from Dolton, IL on May 18th, 2018
Overall Rating
National Gas & Electric
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This company's caller claimed to be "a ComEd supplier", which is false per ComEd. And they are not the best rate, either. For any competitor, not just this one, find out what all the startup/cancellation/etc fees will cost you in the end, just to get an artificially low and temporary rate. When I identified myself for the second time as a person taking a message for my mother, who is the homeowner, this vendor hung up on me. And that's how I know the caller ID number is no good. Tried it three different times.

Cr from Lake Forest, IL on May 16th, 2018
Overall Rating
Wow - Horrid Pricing
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I received a call from a telemarketer. The offer for a ComEd account was 7.99 cents per kWh for three months. A 30% savings was claimed (which is a lie). Plus a "discounted" rate of just $5.89 customer charge per month. These rates are very high and from reading what other victims wrote on this site, the rates are then greatly increased after the initial "teaser" rate.



The telephone offer (7.99 cents) was more than 15% higher than competitors per kWh plus an extra monthly (made up "customer fee") of $5.00.

A quick check of competitive pricing, from multiple suppliers, at UtilityDiscount.com revealed a low 6 month fully fixed rate of 6.89 cents for six months and 7.49 cents for twelve months and no extra monthly customer charge. Shop and compare before you sign a contract. Lastly, NEVER PAY a miscellaneous "CUSTOMER CHARGE"

Only consider suppliers who offer a fully fixed, per kWh, product and then compare with your current charges on your electric bill. If the price offered is less, then switch. https://utilitydiscount.com is a good source for current prices. I knew better than to sign up, but clearly the get customers.

A Knowledgeable Consumer from Chicago, IL on April 26th, 2018
Overall Rating
Fraudulent billing practices
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

When my contract expired at 5.9 cents but hadn't yet moved to a new provider, National Gas and Electric moved by per KW rate to 17.9 cents. This is basically fraud in that their contract never stated they would charge me the highest rate possible, higher than any other provider.



Do not sign with this company, you have been warned.

Jon from Elmhurst, IL on April 10th, 2018
Overall Rating
Scammers. Should have negative 5 stars.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Targeted my elderly mother and switched her over the phone. Nicor was excellent in helping to switch the account back. Report the scammers to the Commerce commission. You won't be the first.

Mad Daughter from Wheaton, IL on February 14th, 2018
Overall Rating
Beware
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My contract was up and never notified me, the month of December and charges me 99 cents a therm!! My bill was 444.00!! Customer service was horrible! No one knows what they are doing there and they blame everything on Nicor!!!!!! They dont even deserve one star, please everyone be careful with this supplier

Anonymous from Evergreen Park, IL on February 9th, 2018
Overall Rating
HORRIBLE COMPANY - ZERO RATING
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MY MOTHER IS IN HER 80'S ...HER BILL TRIPLED ONCE THE TERM WAS UP.. RIDICULOUS .. WILL NOT HELP YOU .. THEY SEND YOU TO NICOR .. SO YOUR HANDS ARE TIED

W ABT from Woodstock, IL on January 30th, 2018
Overall Rating
Illegal Telemarketer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They have called us multiple times in spite of being on the federal Do Not Call list

J.r. from Algonquin, IL on January 29th, 2018
Overall Rating
BUYER BEWARE!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

This company doesn't deserve one star ratings. Numerous red flags, i.e. none of their reps speak competent English,


different rate/different story with every call. Believe the reviews.

Watch Out! from Chicago, IL on January 22nd, 2018

Compare National Gas & Electric to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
MRC
The 'MRC' or 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
Type
Secure Green 12
8.69¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Secure 12
8.49¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability