Reviews for NRG Home

The best review categories for NRG Home are their customer service, with an average of 1.2 stars, and their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.0 stars.


Recent Good Review from Happy

Great experience
Great girl in the store, told me that the price would be promotional and I would need to call to lock in price after 3 months, now I get cash back on my bill and a right plan for myself, if you dont call your rate will go back to variable just like com Ed already does. Its really simple. Happy customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy from Crystal Lake, IL on January 22nd, 2020


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Set up remiders!!!
Yall are stupid....like seriously....the rep told me to remember to call after the 3 month promotional rate..and I did! WOULD YOU LOOK AT THAT THEY DROPPED ME TO 6.2 cents per kWh! PEOPLE!!! Please dont be stupid and call to update the rate on time!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

REMEMBER YOU PEOPLE! from Elmhurst, IL on February 27th, 2019



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Great experience
Great girl in the store, told me that the price would be promotional and I would need to call to lock in price after 3 months, now I get cash back on my bill and a right plan for myself, if you dont call your rate will go back to variable just like com Ed already does. Its really simple. Happy customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy from Crystal Lake, IL on January 22nd, 2020



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

28 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Scam
Signed up at Walmart. They said i woyld save on my Ameren bill. My Ameren bill is $290.00 a month. I had to use a magnifying glass to read the small print from their e mail. My account with them for the next three months would now be $400.00 a month. Got a letter from Ameren about nrg and a phone number to call to cancell the contract. Took me 30 minutes on the phone with their argumentative phone rep to get it cancelled. A total scam
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ron from Mattoon, IL on August 21st, 2022
TOTAL SCAM
For the first 3 months being signed up with NRG, my bill was normal, maybe even a little lower than normal. Once the 3 months was up, my bill shot up by over $300. requested to cancel. request was ignored. here we are 3 months later and my account has just now been cancelled, but for the past 2 months, my electric bills have been over$600! I have sent multiple emails, chatted with someone on the NRG website. I was offered $75 refund check for my troubles. That doesn't quite cover $1200 in electric bills. Currently awaiting a call back from a supervisor. Do yourself a favor and avoid this company at all costs. (I got signed up at walmart one evening). don't walk away from these people...RUN. I'm happy to provide copies of my electric bills to anyone who thinks I'm just leaving a bogus review. And if ZERO stars would have been an option, that's what I would've selected.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tina Newingham from Pawnee, IL on March 8th, 2022
SCAM
I enrolled while shopping because the gentleman told me I could cancel within the first ten days. So later I looked them up on BBB & found terrible reviews. They skyrocket your bill after the first three months, so I called 6 times in the first three days to cancel & kept being told they don't have my account or phone number on file (even thought they emailed me the contract & texted my phone for a survey)...I had to cancel the enrollment through Ameren...funny they submitted the request to Ameren but couldn't find me when I wanted to cancel. If I could give 0 stars for the headache & lies I would. Luckily I'm out before they robbed me of money. Save yourself the trouble & avoid this sorry excuse of a company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Fallon from Staunton, IL on February 9th, 2022
Beware
Ripoff. Their little tricks of a cheap gift card shall be paid back ten fold within a year. They're a useless middle man
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tbone from Highland Park, IL on September 13th, 2021
DO NOT SWITCH TO THIS COMPANY
I was paying mover 8x the amount I should be with these frauds. Never again. Taking from the poor. DISGUSTING
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cjs from Quincy, IL on August 16th, 2021
NRG is a scam!
NRG bribes you with gift cards for the store your shopping in. They promise you super low rates then after a few months they raise their rates extremely high! When I called to speak about this all of their employees were rude. You can tell they hate their job. Probably because everyone hates their company. They must get 1000 complaints a day and they do not do anything to satisfy the customer! Imagine a normal gas bill in the winter being around $80 then add another $70 if you have NRG! Why have NRG?? Just stick to peoples gas alone and save yourself half the bill!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Miranda from Chicago, IL on July 29th, 2021
These are thieves
They are thief. Lied to me that my energy bill would go down if I chose them as a service provider. It went up 200%. Later heard from other people that they are fraud.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Deepak Lamichhane from 40368 on July 12th, 2021
**STAY AWAY**
Your bill will always change, the prices continually go up, this company is a rip off. DO NOT USE. STAY AWAY from NRG. Your bill will be extremely high and they won't help.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ashley from Hudson, IL on April 27th, 2021
NRG is a scam
NRG is the worst company ever to use as a supplier, my bill went from 138 to 263 then to 368 and continue to go up please people do not fall for the scam the reps work out of Walmart. I never signed up for it
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

R.Wilks from Dolton, IL on March 23rd, 2021
What a scam!
What a scam! I have three accounts with them all of a sudden it tripled. I called and they said well we can lower it again but I have to call every three months. So between working raising kids businesses Im supposed to stop and do this also big rip off do not do not do not do it!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Linda C from Forest Park, IL on March 15th, 2021