The best review categories for NRG Home are their customer service, with an average of 1.5 stars, and their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.3 stars.

Recent Good Review from Happy

Great experience
Great girl in the store, told me that the price would be promotional and I would need to call to lock in price after 3 months, now I get cash back on my bill and a right plan for myself, if you dont call your rate will go back to variable just like com Ed already does. Its really simple. Happy customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy from Crystal Lake, IL on January 22nd, 2020


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Set up remiders!!!
Yall are stupid....like seriously....the rep told me to remember to call after the 3 month promotional rate..and I did! WOULD YOU LOOK AT THAT THEY DROPPED ME TO 6.2 cents per kWh! PEOPLE!!! Please dont be stupid and call to update the rate on time!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

REMEMBER YOU PEOPLE! from Elmhurst, IL on February 27th, 2019



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Great experience
Great girl in the store, told me that the price would be promotional and I would need to call to lock in price after 3 months, now I get cash back on my bill and a right plan for myself, if you dont call your rate will go back to variable just like com Ed already does. Its really simple. Happy customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy from Crystal Lake, IL on January 22nd, 2020



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

25 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Beware
Ripoff. Their little tricks of a cheap gift card shall be paid back ten fold within a year. They're a useless middle man
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tbone from Highland Park, IL on September 13th, 2021
DO NOT SWITCH TO THIS COMPANY
I was paying mover 8x the amount I should be with these frauds. Never again. Taking from the poor. DISGUSTING
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cjs from Quincy, IL on August 16th, 2021
NRG is a scam!
NRG bribes you with gift cards for the store your shopping in. They promise you super low rates then after a few months they raise their rates extremely high! When I called to speak about this all of their employees were rude. You can tell they hate their job. Probably because everyone hates their company. They must get 1000 complaints a day and they do not do anything to satisfy the customer! Imagine a normal gas bill in the winter being around $80 then add another $70 if you have NRG! Why have NRG?? Just stick to peoples gas alone and save yourself half the bill!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Miranda from Chicago, IL on July 29th, 2021
These are thieves
They are thief. Lied to me that my energy bill would go down if I chose them as a service provider. It went up 200%. Later heard from other people that they are fraud.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Deepak Lamichhane from 40368 on July 12th, 2021
**STAY AWAY**
Your bill will always change, the prices continually go up, this company is a rip off. DO NOT USE. STAY AWAY from NRG. Your bill will be extremely high and they won't help.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ashley from Hudson, IL on April 27th, 2021
NRG is a scam
NRG is the worst company ever to use as a supplier, my bill went from 138 to 263 then to 368 and continue to go up please people do not fall for the scam the reps work out of Walmart. I never signed up for it
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

R.Wilks from Dolton, IL on March 23rd, 2021
What a scam!
What a scam! I have three accounts with them all of a sudden it tripled. I called and they said well we can lower it again but I have to call every three months. So between working raising kids businesses Im supposed to stop and do this also big rip off do not do not do not do it!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Linda C from Forest Park, IL on March 15th, 2021
Complete scam artists
They stand around In WalMarts selling their service this should be the 1st red flag! Then when they hook you they BANK on you forgetting to call in after 3 months and when you do forget then bump you to 10.9 cents per KWH where Ameren is at 4.5 cents per KWH. Way to screw people during these times we are in, if I could give 0 star rating I would!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rled from East Peoria, IL on March 12th, 2021
Crap
They are so quick to be on your account and take so long to get removed its ridiculous! I understood I was to call after 3 mon to change the rate but I want to cancel it. They make canceling impossible. You talk to people and think its been handled and all of a sudden oh we never received a call about canceling. Oh this is ridiculous! Scammers is what they are.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pissed Off Customer from Roselle, IL on March 12th, 2021
Scam
They offer a lower rate, which is true on paper, but the fees made my bill the same as paying the supplier directly, which I had been before. You get an annual check, which was decent the first year. But the second year they increased the rates by 50%, and the check was much smaller. This year my bills have DOUBLED what they were a year ago, which was already 50% higher than the year before that. The check I got recently was almost nothing. I made sure nothing in the contract said they could do this before I signed anything, so they are doing this without telling you, even in the fine print. The bill I opened today was over $200, and shows I use less kWHs for that billing period than I did for that period a year ago, when my bill was less than $100. Stay the hell away from this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pissed Off from Effingham, IL on January 26th, 2021


Gas Plans & Rates


Recommended Plans
All Plans
Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Monthly Recurring Charge
The 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
3 Year Plan
36 month
Fixed Rate
$0.599 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
36 Month Fixed Rate
36 month
Fixed Rate
$0.599 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.609 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
2 Year Plan
24 month
Fixed Rate
$0.609 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
$0.619 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
1 Year Plan
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.659 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
1 Year Fixed
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.659 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.679 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.699 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
6 Month Fixed Rate
6 month
Fixed Rate
$0.699 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge