STAY AWAY
Stay away cant believe their in business. Total CON GAME. My wife paying the bills, I never noticed. Rates doubled within months of signing up. Complete scum bags.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michael Folan from Chicago, IL on November 19th, 2020
Do not switch to NRG Home
They will switch the initial rate without notifying you. They will actually double the initial rate. That is how they make money. It may take more than two billing cycles to switch back to your original or a new supplier.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Marzena from Dekalb, IL on July 30th, 2020
NRG reatail solution another scam
Total scam. In Chicago they try to sign you up in Menards. They are charging rates twice the amount you would be charged using ComEd. They charge 0.119 when
ComEd charges 0.071 per kWH. It 67 % on top of what you should be paying.
I asked them to provide me with the written contract. Did not get it from the. The bill comes from the ComED. I thought that the ComED is rising the prices but when I called ComED they said that it is a third party provider not them, who is charging me such a higher rates. I never got any letter from them. They just operate the call center and singn poeple in at WalMart, Menrads... This is a total fraud. Lack of transparancy , lack of proper billing. I filed a complain with Illinois Commerce Commision. I was told that people file the complains against NRG Retail Solution with the Illinois Commerce Commision.
If I did not call ComEd and complained about the higher rates I would be still paying high rates. The cancellation of the contract takes two billing cycles ( two months ).
They singed you in without your knowledge in one day.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rafael S from Chicago, IL on July 23rd, 2020
Dont get tricked by the Promotions they offer
They initially start off with a nice plan stating that as a customer we dont see any change in the rate plan. With out any communication, they doubled the price of the kilowatt per unit and when i asked them to cancel it , they say it may take 2 billing cycles during which time they continue to charge the hiked amount. Stay away from these marketing tricks.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

NrgVictim from Arlington Heights, IL on July 13th, 2020
Fraud
This company fraudulently had me sign up in Sams club telling me I was already sign with there company. Do not trust them
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

L Quinn from Bolingbrook, IL on February 15th, 2020
Great experience
Great girl in the store, told me that the price would be promotional and I would need to call to lock in price after 3 months, now I get cash back on my bill and a right plan for myself, if you dont call your rate will go back to variable just like com Ed already does. Its really simple. Happy customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy from Crystal Lake, IL on January 22nd, 2020
Angrier by the Minute
So, I've just figured out that going with NRG on my home and several rental properties has cost me nearly $4,000.00 (YES FOUR THOUSAND $$) in the last six month. I have my account set up to be automatically paid and they are set on budget billing. So, I get alerts that tell my the amount of each bill, but its only at the end of the year that the budget billing # goes up or down. You can imagine how I felt when I saw astronomical raises in budget billing. For example one property went from 261 to 456. I couldn't imagine what those occupants were doing!! Since one was my home, I knew something was off. When I signed on with NRG, I got a low rate (4.7) with a three month freeze knowing that it go up. Of course I figured it would go up to a fairly normal market price. I reviewed the contract and it is limited to 30 percent per month, but I didn't think that would be the minimum. Right now my rate is over 14.1. I guess next month will be 18.3, followed by 23.8, 30.9 and then 40.15. WOW. that rate would make my bill 1,127 at home as compared to 261. Well, thankfully the end of the year came and I was notified by Ameren that my budget billing was going up to 456. Of course Ameren wasn't looking at the 30 percent monthly hikes either--had they done that they would have been able to see that by the end of the year, the rate would have increased from .13 to .31. Not even Ameren would foresee the $261 going up to over 1,000. I guess the idea is to rip me off as long as you can until I get wise. How greedy can you get?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rick McPeak from Greenville, IL on January 20th, 2020
SCAMMER!
I felt sorry for myself that I just noticed my rate was too high. NRG representative lied. He did not explain to us to call every 3 months to update the rate. I called the NRG and asked why our rate is .109 and said we never called before the promotional rate ends. Ridiculous! Rep never said anything about that. Sadly they will still bill us for 2 months after cancelling them. Being screwed for over a year.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Delia from Elmwood, IL on January 15th, 2020
What a scam
Last year in December 2018 some nice lady was stop me on some cinema place about promoting nrg , and if Im interested to switch, because price was ok and even lower than ComEd, I was switch to nrg, of course she forgot to mention one important thing, like must call nrg every 3 months to negotiate price of Elektryk...??!! After one year of reaping me off I was checking my last bill something is to high and of course price was double than ComEd !!! After calling customer service everything was explaining to me , what a shame it was to late of this , when I was decided to cancel and switch to ComEd they told me this will keep them 1-2 service before this will happen!!! Plus they will charge me even more before this will happen!!! Thank you nrg for this scam !!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tomasz C from Harwood Heights, IL on December 9th, 2019
Rip Off!
I signed up with them at AMC theater to get a 25 gift card. Big mistake. Bill eventually doubled and I get a $2-3.00 check in the mail which wasn't worth thetrip to the bank. Their supply rate is currently .12 vs .06 from electric company. Do your research and don't sign up on the spot before you have compared rates.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

No Mo NRG! from Hazel Crest, IL on November 1st, 2019







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for NRG Home are their customer service, rated at 1.8 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.5 of 5.
5 Stars
6%
 
4 Stars
6%
 
3 Stars
0%
 
2 Stars
0%
 
1 Stars
88%
 
1.5 / 5
Overall
1.5 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
1.4 / 5
Order Experience
1.8 / 5
Customer Service
1.5 / 5
Billing and Account Management
1.5 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About NRG Home



Recommended Natural Gas Plans