Reviews for NRG Home

The best review categories for NRG Home are their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.4 stars, and their customer service, with an average of 1.4 stars.


Recent Good Review from Cwilson

Easy to sign up
I used IL energy to sign up for NRG electric provider. It was very easy. Thank you for showing me the comparison of providers in my area.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cwilson from on January 11th, 2024


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Easy to sign up
I used IL energy to sign up for NRG electric provider. It was very easy. Thank you for showing me the comparison of providers in my area.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cwilson from on January 11th, 2024
Set up remiders!!!
Yall are stupid....like seriously....the rep told me to remember to call after the 3 month promotional rate..and I did! WOULD YOU LOOK AT THAT THEY DROPPED ME TO 6.2 cents per kWh! PEOPLE!!! Please dont be stupid and call to update the rate on time!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

REMEMBER YOU PEOPLE! from Elmhurst, IL on February 27th, 2019



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
To lower my energy supply but idk it's still high
My experience was ok I guess but my Bill is still high
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jeri Burks from Iuka, IL on May 10th, 2023
Great experience
Great girl in the store, told me that the price would be promotional and I would need to call to lock in price after 3 months, now I get cash back on my bill and a right plan for myself, if you dont call your rate will go back to variable just like com Ed already does. Its really simple. Happy customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy from Crystal Lake, IL on January 22nd, 2020



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

33 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
SCAMMERS
My electric bill is double what it was. Customers shouldn't have to contact a legit utility company every 3 months. Customers should be informed by NRG reps from the beginning that the rates double after 3 months. NRG doesn't tell you to call in 3 months, they don't tell you how much the rate increase is. It's a surprise
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Summ from Hazel Crest, IL on January 27th, 2024
Offered $100 gift card if enrolled but it was $20 and from there more issues
Offered $100 if we signed up but nowhere it was mentioned the 100. We got home and it was $20 gift card, not $100 and the rest was fine but we were going to save only $2/month in our monthly bills so we called to cancelled after reading how the rates jumped so high after the first 3 months. We were told we had to wait 2 billing cycles but we cancelled the 3rd day since we signed up so legally they had to cancell!! We had no access to a written contract with all info lady on the phone was saying until 3 weeks later and what we had didn't match with her info. We had no way to log in until waiting 3 more weeks so we just wanted to cancel. Too many inconsistencies and contradictory information. We were able to cancelled but not transparent and with deceptive practices. Do not trust this company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Do Not Sign Up. from Wood Dale, IL on September 7th, 2023
Bad Business and Unethical
If I can give this company zero stars, I would. Stay far away from them. They are scammers. I've been using them for my energy supplier for almost a year and paid every month in full, on time. They will steadily increase your rate, but when I finally decided to cancel my service with them, I received the most outrageous bill I've ever seen in my life for electricity. They will find a way to make their money. Never in my wildest dreams would I ever receive a $388 bill for one month. Very unethical and I will make sure I let everyone I know to stay far away.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tamala Lumpkin from Chicago, IL on July 27th, 2023
Scam
I was approached at my local Walmart by 2 reps for nrg and was told their rates were so much better than Ameren. I thought my $400/mo electric bill was bad for my small home. With no difference in our usage nrg is charging me $1200/mo even after I had cancelled twice. I live in southern Illinois in a very poverty ridden area and they offered me a $25 inconvenience. So they admitted guilt. Most people in my area make that much for the whole month. They are scam artists! Do not use them. They charge .19 kWh and you dont know until its too late
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Maranda from Sandoval, IL on May 26th, 2023
Billed at 18.399C kwh
Truth in advertising will be in play on this one. My plan was for 11.8C kwh and my bill shows 18.399. NOT GONA FLY!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Matt from Elkhart, IL on January 17th, 2023
Scam
Signed up at Walmart. They said i woyld save on my Ameren bill. My Ameren bill is $290.00 a month. I had to use a magnifying glass to read the small print from their e mail. My account with them for the next three months would now be $400.00 a month. Got a letter from Ameren about nrg and a phone number to call to cancell the contract. Took me 30 minutes on the phone with their argumentative phone rep to get it cancelled. A total scam
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ron from Mattoon, IL on August 21st, 2022
TOTAL SCAM
For the first 3 months being signed up with NRG, my bill was normal, maybe even a little lower than normal. Once the 3 months was up, my bill shot up by over $300. requested to cancel. request was ignored. here we are 3 months later and my account has just now been cancelled, but for the past 2 months, my electric bills have been over$600! I have sent multiple emails, chatted with someone on the NRG website. I was offered $75 refund check for my troubles. That doesn't quite cover $1200 in electric bills. Currently awaiting a call back from a supervisor. Do yourself a favor and avoid this company at all costs. (I got signed up at walmart one evening). don't walk away from these people...RUN. I'm happy to provide copies of my electric bills to anyone who thinks I'm just leaving a bogus review. And if ZERO stars would have been an option, that's what I would've selected.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tina Newingham from Pawnee, IL on March 8th, 2022
SCAM
I enrolled while shopping because the gentleman told me I could cancel within the first ten days. So later I looked them up on BBB & found terrible reviews. They skyrocket your bill after the first three months, so I called 6 times in the first three days to cancel & kept being told they don't have my account or phone number on file (even thought they emailed me the contract & texted my phone for a survey)...I had to cancel the enrollment through Ameren...funny they submitted the request to Ameren but couldn't find me when I wanted to cancel. If I could give 0 stars for the headache & lies I would. Luckily I'm out before they robbed me of money. Save yourself the trouble & avoid this sorry excuse of a company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Fallon from Staunton, IL on February 9th, 2022
Beware
Ripoff. Their little tricks of a cheap gift card shall be paid back ten fold within a year. They're a useless middle man
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tbone from Highland Park, IL on September 13th, 2021
DO NOT SWITCH TO THIS COMPANY
I was paying mover 8x the amount I should be with these frauds. Never again. Taking from the poor. DISGUSTING
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cjs from Quincy, IL on August 16th, 2021