Reviews Overview
The best review categories for NRG Home are their customer service, rated at 1.6 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.4 of 5.
5 Stars
5%
 
4 Stars
5%
 
3 Stars
0%
 
2 Stars
0%
 
1 Stars
91%
 


Jump To

Recent Good Review from Happy

Great experience
Great girl in the store, told me that the price would be promotional and I would need to call to lock in price after 3 months, now I get cash back on my bill and a right plan for myself, if you dont call your rate will go back to variable just like com Ed already does. Its really simple. Happy customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy from Crystal Lake, IL on January 22nd, 2020


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Set up remiders!!!
Yall are stupid....like seriously....the rep told me to remember to call after the 3 month promotional rate..and I did! WOULD YOU LOOK AT THAT THEY DROPPED ME TO 6.2 cents per kWh! PEOPLE!!! Please dont be stupid and call to update the rate on time!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

REMEMBER YOU PEOPLE! from Elmhurst, IL on February 27th, 2019



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Great experience
Great girl in the store, told me that the price would be promotional and I would need to call to lock in price after 3 months, now I get cash back on my bill and a right plan for myself, if you dont call your rate will go back to variable just like com Ed already does. Its really simple. Happy customer
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy from Crystal Lake, IL on January 22nd, 2020



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

20 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
NRG is a scam
NRG is the worst company ever to use as a supplier, my bill went from 138 to 263 then to 368 and continue to go up please people do not fall for the scam the reps work out of Walmart. I never signed up for it
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

R.Wilks from Dolton, IL on March 23rd, 2021
What a scam!
What a scam! I have three accounts with them all of a sudden it tripled. I called and they said well we can lower it again but I have to call every three months. So between working raising kids businesses Im supposed to stop and do this also big rip off do not do not do not do it!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Linda C from Forest Park, IL on March 15th, 2021
Complete scam artists
They stand around In WalMarts selling their service this should be the 1st red flag! Then when they hook you they BANK on you forgetting to call in after 3 months and when you do forget then bump you to 10.9 cents per KWH where Ameren is at 4.5 cents per KWH. Way to screw people during these times we are in, if I could give 0 star rating I would!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rled from East Peoria, IL on March 12th, 2021
Crap
They are so quick to be on your account and take so long to get removed its ridiculous! I understood I was to call after 3 mon to change the rate but I want to cancel it. They make canceling impossible. You talk to people and think its been handled and all of a sudden oh we never received a call about canceling. Oh this is ridiculous! Scammers is what they are.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pissed Off Customer from Roselle, IL on March 12th, 2021
Scam
They offer a lower rate, which is true on paper, but the fees made my bill the same as paying the supplier directly, which I had been before. You get an annual check, which was decent the first year. But the second year they increased the rates by 50%, and the check was much smaller. This year my bills have DOUBLED what they were a year ago, which was already 50% higher than the year before that. The check I got recently was almost nothing. I made sure nothing in the contract said they could do this before I signed anything, so they are doing this without telling you, even in the fine print. The bill I opened today was over $200, and shows I use less kWHs for that billing period than I did for that period a year ago, when my bill was less than $100. Stay the hell away from this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pissed Off from Effingham, IL on January 26th, 2021
STAY AWAY
Stay away cant believe their in business. Total CON GAME. My wife paying the bills, I never noticed. Rates doubled within months of signing up. Complete scum bags.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michael Folan from Chicago, IL on November 19th, 2020
Do not switch to NRG Home
They will switch the initial rate without notifying you. They will actually double the initial rate. That is how they make money. It may take more than two billing cycles to switch back to your original or a new supplier.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Marzena from Dekalb, IL on July 30th, 2020
NRG reatail solution another scam
Total scam. In Chicago they try to sign you up in Menards. They are charging rates twice the amount you would be charged using ComEd. They charge 0.119 when
ComEd charges 0.071 per kWH. It 67 % on top of what you should be paying.
I asked them to provide me with the written contract. Did not get it from the. The bill comes from the ComED. I thought that the ComED is rising the prices but when I called ComED they said that it is a third party provider not them, who is charging me such a higher rates. I never got any letter from them. They just operate the call center and singn poeple in at WalMart, Menrads... This is a total fraud. Lack of transparancy , lack of proper billing. I filed a complain with Illinois Commerce Commision. I was told that people file the complains against NRG Retail Solution with the Illinois Commerce Commision.
If I did not call ComEd and complained about the higher rates I would be still paying high rates. The cancellation of the contract takes two billing cycles ( two months ).
They singed you in without your knowledge in one day.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rafael S from Chicago, IL on July 23rd, 2020
Dont get tricked by the Promotions they offer
They initially start off with a nice plan stating that as a customer we dont see any change in the rate plan. With out any communication, they doubled the price of the kilowatt per unit and when i asked them to cancel it , they say it may take 2 billing cycles during which time they continue to charge the hiked amount. Stay away from these marketing tricks.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

NrgVictim from Arlington Heights, IL on July 13th, 2020
Fraud
This company fraudulently had me sign up in Sams club telling me I was already sign with there company. Do not trust them
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

L Quinn from Bolingbrook, IL on February 15th, 2020


Recommended Natural Gas Plans