We currently recommend natural gas plans from Vista Energy, Constellation and Energy Harbor

NRG is a scam / these are con men and crooks

(1 / 5)

  The set up in Walmart, they prmise to always be cheaper than your supplier, then they more than double the rate. These are crooks

NRG is a scam / Crooks
August 16th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NRG Review

(4.8 / 5)

  The customer service representatives were very nice. I switched with NRG a few months ago, and when they stopped me, they reminded me to call back, so my rate didn't go to a variable rate.

James
August 1st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not switch to NRG Home

(1.2 / 5)

  They will switch the initial rate without notifying you. They will actually double the initial rate. That is how they make money. It may take more than two billing cycles to switch back to your original or a new supplier.

Marzena
July 30th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I always stayed away from that crappy company

(1.8 / 5)

  They seem to have no renewable options, meaning they mostly use the most polluting source of energy such as coal. Their sales tactics are despicable. And, if you compare electric rates, they are not competitive.

Get The Crooks
July 27th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Nrg

(5 / 5)

  NRG saved me so much on my bill. I was paying $233 of the 2 fees they take off, and my bill was only$476. They reminded me to call back after 3 months or my rates would go up. In glad I called back.

Kelly Rogers
July 25th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NRG reatail solution another scam

(1.2 / 5)

  Total scam. In Chicago they try to sign you up in Menards. They are charging rates twice the amount you would be charged using ComEd. They charge 0.119 when
ComEd charges 0.071 per kWH. It 67 % on top of what you should be paying.
I asked them to provide me with the written contract. Did not get it from the. The bill comes from the ComED. I thought that the ComED is rising the prices but when I called ComED they said that it is a third party provider not them, who is charging me such a higher rates. I never got any letter from them. They just operate the call center and singn poeple in at WalMart, Menrads... This is a total fraud. Lack of transparancy , lack of proper billing. I filed a complain with Illinois Commerce Commision. I was told that people file the complains against NRG Retail Solution with the Illinois Commerce Commision.
If I did not call ComEd and complained about the higher rates I would be still paying high rates. The cancellation of the contract takes two billing cycles ( two months ).
They singed you in without your knowledge in one day.

Rafael S
July 23rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Renew and your rates will stay low

(5 / 5)

  Everyone complaining that their rates went up, its because you didnt renew like the rep told you to. Its not that hard to understand. If you renew, youll keep your rates low.

Kevin
July 20th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Doubled bill - no warning

(1.8 / 5)

  They doubled my bill without warning. They told me that once the promo is over that the price would potentially go up to market value. Doubling isnt market value. Scummy business practice

James
July 14th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont get tricked by the Promotions they offer

(1.2 / 5)

  They initially start off with a nice plan stating that as a customer we dont see any change in the rate plan. With out any communication, they doubled the price of the kilowatt per unit and when i asked them to cancel it , they say it may take 2 billing cycles during which time they continue to charge the hiked amount. Stay away from these marketing tricks.

NrgVictim
July 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam !!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  Scammmm don't sign-up

F. V
July 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BAIT and SWITCH!

(1 / 5)

  BEWARE of this company!!! NRG will promise to save you money and at first you will. But they will then change your account to "variable" and before you know it you will be paying DOUBLE or more. I contacted my previous supplier, Penelec and inquired about their rate. (the company NRG promised to be cheaper than) They quoted me a rate of HALF what I am currently paying with NRG. When I called to cancel the operator said that after 3 months my account went to variable and that yes I was paying a much higher rate. WOW....pretty much blatant theft right there. DO NOT fall for their sales pitch. This company is corrupt in their business practices and has infuriated many customers according to their reviews. I wish I had known before I made the switch but they caught us at Walmart where I couldn't fact check them. They tell you how they want to save you money and why wouldn't you switch? Nice sales pitch but unfortunately it is NOT TRUE!

Joe
June 25th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This is a scam!!!

(1 / 5)

  I was approached in a Walmart. I was intrigued! Then after 3 months, my bill spiked! So I tried to cancel it. I was told that it was canceled, but I was getting bills $400-$500 a month!!! I cant afford that. Come to find out thy not only did the rep not cancel the services, its price is more than double of the actual electric company. Please dont ask to speak to a supervisor because in this multimillion dollar company, they only have one that is able to help! I was robbed for damn near $3000!!!!

Pissed Off
June 17th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great people

(5 / 5)

  The people, service and saving are great. I would highly recommend them.

Steve
June 17th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst too much expensive

(1 / 5)

  I used to pay 80 dollars average but after switching to this My cost went up to 400 dollars.. never ever try this.

S
May 30th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

it's worth it

(4.6 / 5)

  I signed up with some guy in Walmart. I usually don't stop at those kind of things but he seemed so happy i had to see what it was all about. I signed up before thanksgiving. First bill i saved a few dollars. I noticed a difference when my bill went from $220 down to $175. I saw these reviews and noticed everyone saying the same thing. The very few writing 5 star reviews are satisfied with NRG's service. Call and keep the program. Everyone wants to write a bad review when something doesn't go their way. Nobody writes a good review, when it meets their expectations.

it works
May 26th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NRG WILL NOT SAVE YOU ANY MONEY!!!

(2.2 / 5)

  They did not save me a penny!!! In March and April 2020 DPL's prices was 4.4 cents /KwH. NRG charged me 10.4 cents per kWh and 11.5 cents in April. If you want to save money DO NOT USE NRG!!!

Mark
May 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't fall for their WE WILL SAVE YOU MONEY sales pitch...

(2.2 / 5)

  They did not save me a penny!!! In March and April 2020 DPL's prices was 4.4 cents /KwH. NRG charged me 10.4 cents per kWh and 11.5 cents in April. If you want to save money DO NOT USE NRG!!!

Mark
May 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rate

(1 / 5)

  Do not use these scammers. They will double your utility Bill in 3 months or less. They need a lawsuit filed against them.

Lou
April 27th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ripoff

(1 / 5)

  I switched to NRG to get a Southwest Airlines promotional reward (miles). The intro rate was lower than I was paying. However, over time they increased my rates to 2.5 times market rates. Shame on me for not noticing right away. When I noticed I switched back to BG&E as my supplier, reduced my rates from over $.15 to under $.07 per kWh. This is their business model. They lure people in with promotions and teaser rates and then count on the fact that most don't analyze their bill each month and/or the fact that the process to switch back isn't transparent or easy to figure out. I will say that once I called they offered to reduce my rates and when I persisted in saying I wanted to end the relationship the woman I spoke to did so readily.
My mistake of switching to NRG cost me hundreds of dollars easily. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY TO PROVIDE YOUR POWER.
Deceptive company!

Andy
April 17th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible - rate tripled in 3 months time.

(1 / 5)

  Started using them as they were cheaper than West Penn. That lasted 2 month. Rate tripled and compared to West Penn they are more than double now.

RagsKP94
April 16th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions