The best review categories for Spark Energy are their customer service, with an average of 2.2 stars, and their billing & account management system, with an average of 2.0 stars.

Recent Good Review from Great Business

Spark Energy's representives great work
Hi I would like to say that signing up with Spark Energy is definitely saving me some money and the help i received from the representatives was very helpful and efficient I appreciate it when the representatives take time to thuroghly explain to the customer about the services that will be given. Thank You
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Great Business from Chicago, IL on March 5th, 2019
Thank you for your positive review. We are grateful to have wonderful customers like you.
— Spark Energy


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Spark Energy's representives great work
Hi I would like to say that signing up with Spark Energy is definitely saving me some money and the help i received from the representatives was very helpful and efficient I appreciate it when the representatives take time to thuroghly explain to the customer about the services that will be given. Thank You
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Great Business from Chicago, IL on March 5th, 2019
Thank you for your positive review. We are grateful to have wonderful customers like you.
— Spark Energy



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

5 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Scam
This people lie sign with them and ur bills will be higher then ever.They claim to lower ur bill but its a lie u pay double of what u where paying
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Scam from Melrose Park, IL on January 10th, 2020
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our services. We'd like the opportunity to review your account to see what occurred and how we can assist. Can you please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com with your concerns and account details? Thank you.
— Spark Energy
Deceprive Business Practices
Recently a young lady knocked on my door representing Spark Energy. She told me they were offering a $100 gift debit card each for electric and gas. I signed up for both. Well 30 days went by and I did not receive them. Now the company tells me that they don't offer it and that the lady does not work for them, but works for some 3rd party company. This company is dishonest and from what I just learned, trespasses too.
I'm very sorry I gave them my personal information, account numbers and my business. Now I am going to have to file a police report for consumer fraud against them. They have shown me nothing but confusion and total dishonesty. Buyers Beware!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Leslie from Blue Island, IL on September 22nd, 2019
We would like to apologize for your experience and we'd also like to investigate further. Would you mind emailing us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com and include these same concerns along with additional details? Thank you.
— Spark Energy
Spark Energy Rate Gouge
My 80 year old Mother either did not reply to a renewal notice or did not receive one. The fixed rate expired 03/07/19. Spark Energy raised her fixed rate from 9 cents a kwh to 18 cents a kwh. Now that the weather is hot we realized the doubling of her supply rate. I can see that their fiduciary is to themselves and that their ethics are in the gutter. Un Justified Rip Off
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lawrence Dolan from Oak Lawn, IL on July 25th, 2019
We apologize for you and your mother's experience. We'd like to confirm that your concerns were investigated and address via the complaint filed.
— Spark Energy
Spark Energy is shady
I will not advice anyone to use this company, they are shady. I don't even know how my energy services got changed to them. I live in a two bedroom apartment in Arlington Heights, Illinois and before my energy bill was transferred to them, my average consumption was 699kwh and when they took over it immediately went up to 2155kwh without any change in usage, season or added home equipment. Also, their rate was double from what I was paying before (0.063900) to 0.11870 and so my bill became outrageous. I called them several times but they couldn't explain how they became my supplier or why my consumption suddenly went up. I was happy with my former supplier whose rates were even less than that of ComEd itself. Like I said, I don't know how they were able to remove my former supplier and had their name on my bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Remi from Arlington Heights, IL on February 7th, 2019
We can understand how alarming it is to see a new supplier suddenly appear on your electric bill. Can you please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com so we can review your enrollment details and see how we can assist you? We look forward to assisting you.
— Spark Energy
Final Notice
I have North Shore gas who handles the bills and receives payment. Spark sent me a Pink bill that said Final Notice. Interesting since I had no previous "notices" from them. Why are they billing me when North Shore pays them?? the Months of service were not even consecutive March, June , and July ; this meant they got April and May, interesting?? This "Final Bill"" also threatened me with taking their bill to a Collection agency and reporting me to credit bureaus if we didn't pay it to them...remember North shore gas pays them and I pay North Shore. Now who should be taken to the collection agency or credit bureau?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Final Notice from Winthrop Harbor, IL on October 11th, 2018
We definitely understand how frustrating it may have been to receive a collections notice regarding your Spark Energy account. We would like to take a look at this for you so we can confirm where the balance comes from. Can you please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com? Thank you.
— Spark Energy



Gas Plans & Rates


Recommended Plans
All Plans
Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Monthly Recurring Charge
The 'Monthly Recurring Charge' is a fee that the provider will add to each of your bills in addition to the electricity/gas usage charges.
3 Year Plan
36 month
Fixed Rate
$0.599 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
36 Month Fixed Rate
36 month
Fixed Rate
$0.599 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.609 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
2 Year Plan
24 month
Fixed Rate
$0.609 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
$0.619 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
1 Year Plan
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.659 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
1 Year Fixed
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.659 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.679 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
$0.699 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
6 Month Fixed Rate
6 month
Fixed Rate
$0.699 / therm
$0.00 monthly recurring charge