SFE Energy Reviews

SFE Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for SFE Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.1 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 2.0 of 5.

SFE Energy Rating

Illinois Energy Ratings Score:


( 2.7 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low
About SFE Energy

Recommended Natural Gas Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price


36 Reviews for SFE Energy


Amazing

(5 / 5)

  Great service. My bill has never been this low.

Joseph Riley
July 18th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Controls my bills! So worth it!!!

(5 / 5)

  I had a young lady come to my door, she explained I had a daily rate and it allowed me to use up to 10,00KWH for electric and 1000ccf for gas, which allowed me to use more without the pricing spiking. My bills have been consistent and Im not surprised month to month. Now if the utilities could lower the stupid delivery fees then that would be nice.

Definitely worth it!

Brittany
June 26th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

5 star company

(5 / 5)

  Representative was here today to sign me up. Her presentation was clear, concise, and very informative. I expect significant savings for both gas and electric services by transferring my business to this company.

K.W. Wright
February 14th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sales Lady at my door

(5 / 5)

  I had one of your sales rep knock on my door and invited them in as it was very hot out and she was friendly and said she was just there to help me understand my utility bill better. She asked for my bill which I didn't mind getting since she said that is why she was here and she broke down my bill for me and showed me what all the rates are and meant, I found her very helpful. She then went on to explain to me what SFE energy offers and that I had options when it came to utility rates which I didn't know until now. I decided to sign up as it looked like it would help me and she said we would have to do a verification call to complete the enrollment and other details to confirm my account which was reassuring . Overall I found my experience with her very helpful and she was straightforward, very patient explaining everything to me and wasn't trying to push me to sign anything which I found comforting.

Patel
September 18th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sales Lady

(5 / 5)

  I had one of your sales rep knock on my door and invited them in as it was very hot out and she was friendly and said she was just there to help me understand my utility bill better. She asked for my bill which I didn't mind getting since she said that is why she was here and she broke down my bill for me and showed me what all the rates are and meant, I found her very helpful. She then went on to explain to me what SFE energy offers and that I had options when it came to utility rates which I didn't know until now. I decided to sign up as it looked like it would help me and she said we would have to do a verification call to complete the enrollment and other details to confirm my account which was reassuring . Overall I found my experience with her very helpful and she was straightforward, very patient explaining everything to me and wasn't trying to push me to sign anything which I found comforting.

Hammad
September 18th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fixed Rate

(4.8 / 5)

  Had a sales rep knock on my door and explain to me about fixed rates which I wasn't aware are an option so I signed up to protect myself.

William Fraser
July 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good company to lock in rates with

(4.8 / 5)

  Some one knocked on my door and explained why locking in a fixed rate is good over time so I signed up with SFE energy.

William Fraser
July 20th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good experience

(4.4 / 5)

  Had a lady knock on my door and explain options to lock in my electricity rate, overall good experience and hopefully will save some money

James
September 12th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Option for Natural Gas Price Protection

(4.4 / 5)

  Locked in to one monthly fee for my natural gas which cover me up to 750 therms per year which in California ias about all I use.

William Fraser
August 3rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Canceled next day

(2.2 / 5)

  Signed up thinking PGE had a new gas provider. Went online to research the company and found out they're not part of PGE. Figured my bill would be higher so canceled right away. I was not charged a cancellation fee.

ren
March 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

CAUTION

(1.4 / 5)

  This company came to me door and assured me that if I move I could easily cancel this service with PECO. My husband was transferred and we moved out of state. I called SFE gas company and they denied this stating I would get billed for cancellation fees. I sent them a verification document where I moved and they still insist that extra fees for cancelling before contract ended (4yrs) would apply. CAUTION --Do not use or recommend this company

Mona Orsini
October 31st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam scam

(1.2 / 5)

  Horrible people its big scam, they got my information from somewhere I didnt even know I had account with SFE energy the supervision name ALI its criminal its said the salesperson name STEVEN SARACENU hes male deal regales about the account with SFE ENERGY they stole money from people, I talk to them on the phone very unprofessional what so funny I call PSE&G to tell them why none call or contact me about unusual move with SFE energy, they said its by the law they can do Whatever they want. Its fake company they dont deliver any supplies energy full of it, when I ever pay not more the 23$ with PSE&G now I end up pay almost 400$. Those people should go to jail, they rip off people

Nap April 28 2020
April 28th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam

(1.2 / 5)

  Overall Scam. The say they are from your energy company and you must sign. I had the sales lady tell me what to say while on the phone so my service does not get interrupted. My bill went from $25 to $166. They should be investigated... also the 5* reviews on here are obviously fake...same review different dates and names...same name different review dates.

Ben Perry
January 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam

(1.2 / 5)

  Nice,talk with the sales person,was not told that its 180.00 cancellation fee, so you gave me very little discount, i dont think so, please inform the contract to the people thats taking advantage of people that are on disability like me to scratch the bottom of my pockets and make ends meet, 180.00 no that's for my personal needs, your on my scam list,and you waited two hours before the other company eas to take over to key us know, you have to know that they're ate phone calls that we sit and wait for hours on hold ,another way to have us by the b
.... thanks but no thanks ex customer from Atwater Ca

Silva Victor/Cidalia
January 31st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I was enrolled through lies.

(1 / 5)

  This company called me saying that their phone call was from pse&g and asked me pse&g POD # in order to send me an apology check because I over paid. They lied to me to enrolled me in their electric supplier. The they called from was not in service I got their number after I was enrolled. Is not fair

Sfe
August 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam company

(1 / 5)

  This company would send an associate to your house door and claim falsely that they are partners of your gas provider in order to make you sign an agreement with them. Then they would charge you a flat $30 for your gas consumption on a monthly basis in addition to the fees of your actual use. Furthermore, they would make it extremely hard for you to opt out of their service by keeping lying to you and giving you fake promises. If you manage to cancel your agreement with them, they would charge you high cancellation fees as if you had begged them to get their service in the first place. I kept calling them and emailing them to cancel the agreement, and every time they would lie to me by saying it was my original provider's responsibility to cancel stop their gas agreement with me. Eventually, I had to play a trick in order to end their scam agreement completely after all of my other efforts to end it failed.

Ronny Morton
June 29th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Wow, rude and impatient

(1 / 5)

  I received a cold call to change over my utilities. The woman started her rehearsed script and it sounded fine until I interrupted her to ask questions to verify that this was a legitimate call and not a fishing call. She was mildly flustered by going off script but she was polite. Thank you Lisa. But my concern is that I would be paying considerably more for this program. (Beyond the additional $6 service charge). So after looking at my bill I saw that my delivery rate was coming up as 13.06/kwh vs 15.47 that they were quoting me. About a 16% difference. I called the customer service line and got a third party call center over seas, so I called the number she called from back and got someone who identified as her team leader. He was RUDE. He kept talking to me like I was inconveniencing him. He said that the difference was additional fees that I was not seeing thought National Grid's billing and then he "man-splained" that the difference we were discussing was less than a penny. No kidding. If I were buying one kw of energy then yes, it would be a penny... but I am buying them by the thousand... which adds up. We are talking about a possible 16% increase in my utility bill.

Brandon
May 7th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scammers!!!

(1 / 5)

  My previous bill was only $29.99 dollars. With SFE bill jumped to $80.47. Scamming in the highest order!!!

Ben
April 27th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BIG TIME SCAM!!!!

(1 / 5)

  DON'T WANT THESE PEOPLE NEAR MY HOUSE! My electric bill quadrupled since they convinced me to switch!!! I should have known it was too good to be true smh!

Stay Away
April 23rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam company misrepresenting info

(1 / 5)

  I have dealt with 3rd party suppliers before all of which locked in a max rate per unit of energy used and if rate went down they would match it. This was not the case with SFE. I asked the "sales associate" several times if I was paying fixed rate per unit of energy used - told me I don't understand and that my bill will be cheaper because I'm currently being overcharged. Looked at the next bill and it was fixed rate per day regardless of gas and electric usage. BILL WAS 5X HIGHER THAN IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN given amount of energy used. Tried to cancel twice so far and it hasn't gone through.

Matt K
April 14th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions





Example Bill
loading...